Medallion Award RECIPIENTS

Stacks Image 23

Corey Medallion - HISTORY & RECIPIENTS

Stacks Image 12
CTFA's Orlin Corey Medallion honors recipients for their significant achievements for the enrichment of children in the United States and Canada through nurturing artistic work in theatre and the arts.

1992 Seattle Agnes Haaga-Winifred Ward Memorial Fund; Behind the Scenes-PBS Television

1993 Boston Howard Gardner-Project Zero-Harvard University; The Night Kitchen-Maurice Sendak and Arthur Yorinks; Aurand Harris

1994 Phoenix National Endowment for the Arts; The Child Drama Collection of Arizona State University (Katheryn Kryzs)

1995 Minneapolis The Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts (DC); The National Shakespeare Competition of the English-Speaking Union of the United States; The District-Wide Drama Program of Minnesota’s Robbinsdale District; Ann Stahlman Hill

1996 New York Project Impact, Arts in Education Foundation; Young Audiences, New York City; Young Playwrights, Inc.; Tony Randall and the National Actors Theatre

1997 Charlotte, NC Paul Sills; Brian Way;The Southeast Center for Education in the Arts; Ann M. Shaw

1998 Denver Waldo M. & Grace C. Bonderman National Youth Theatre Playwriting Symposium (IN) (Dorothy Webb); The Theatre Program of the Cherry Creek School District of Colorado; The New 42nd Street, Inc., The New Victory Theatre of New York City; Jed H. Davis

1999 Evanston, IL The Illinois High School Theatre Festival; Alvin Cohen; Cecily O’Neill;The International Showcase of Performing Arts for Young People; Shari Lewis, Lamb Chop and Friends, Posthumous Medallion

2000 Washington, DC International Network of Performing Arts Schools; Charles M. Schulz; New Visions/New Voices (DC); The Storytelling Foundation International; Julie Taymor

2001 San Diego Suzan Zeder; The Oregon Shakespeare Festival and its Regional Outreach; The Mark Taper Forum and Thirty Years of P.L.A.Y. (CA); The Legacy of Dr. Seuss, a.k.a. Dr. Theodor Geisel

2002 Minneapolis The Guthrie Theatre Education Program Minneapolis, MN); Mary Jane Evans; Nellie McCaslin; Barbara M. McIntyre; Geraldine Brain Siks

2003 New York The Paper Bag Players (NYC); Lowell and Nancy Swortzell and The Program in Educational Theatre, New York University; Virginia Glasgow Koste; Anne H.Thurman; Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood: Fred Rogers and David Newell

2004 Salt Lake City Patricia Whitton Forrest; National Thespian Society-75th Anniversary; Children’s Theater Company of Minneapolis (MN); Harold Oaks

2005 Chicago Moses Goldberg; Donald Doyle; Lin Sommers Wright; Katherine Paterson; Orlin Corey

2006 Bethesda Jonathan Levy; Irene Lockridge Corey; Joseph Robinette; Bella Itkin

2007 Vancouver, B.C. Christopher Gaze; Gina May; Tom Behm; Elizabeth Ball

2008 Atlanta Alliance Theatre (Atlanta, GA)-Carol Jones, Rosemary Newcott, Sharon Brewer; Children’s Theatre of Charlotte (NC)-Bruce LaRowe, Alan Poindexter, Valerie Rhymer

2009 New York James Still; Maxine Greene; New York State Theatre Institute and its founder Patricia Di Benedetto Snyder

2010 San Francisco Pat Briggs and the Palo Alto (CA) Children’s Theatre; David Saar and Childsplay (AZ); Karen McKenney, Toni Molloy-Tudor and the Rainbow Youth Theatre of Las Vegas (NV); Eleanor and Ray Harder

The Award is renamed the Orlin Corey Medallion Award, 2010

2011 Chicago Rob Goodman and First Stage Children’s Theater (Milwaukee, WI); Gloria Bond Clunie; Coleman A. Jennings

2012 Lexington Ruth Beall Heinig; Nat Eek; Lexington (KY) Children’s Theatre and its Artistic Director,Vivian Snipes and Producing Director, Larry Snipes; Fund for the Arts-Louisville

2013 Cleveland Linda Hartzell and the Seattle Children's Theatre; Kim Peter Kovac; The Cleveland Playhouse (OH)

2014 Denver Barry Kornhauser; Denver Center Theatre Academy (CO)

2015 Chicago Janet Allen & Indiana Repertory Theatre (Indianapolis); José Cruz González; Punchdrunk (Theatre) Enrichment

2016 Boston Katherine Krzys; True Colors: Out Youth Theater, a program of Boston's The Theater Offensive (MA)

2017 San Francisco Brian Guehring; Each One Reach One - ERO. (CA)

2018 Minneapolis Johnny Saldaña; Albany Park Theater Project (Chicago)

2019 Atlanta Youth Ensemble of Atlanta; Center for Puppetry Arts; Karen Zacarías-playwright and founder of Young Playwrights Theatre, Washington D.C.

2020 No Corey Medallion was awarded. COVID-19 flu precautions prevented gatherings for the event.

2021 Online Corey Medallions awarded as a special event of TYA/USA's Virtual Festival and Conference RECHARGE TYA. 2021 Honorees: Dreams of Hope (Pittsburgh, PA), Khalia Davis (Oakland, CA , Dolores Chávez (Los Angeles, CA), Jonathan Shmidt Chapman (New York, NY)

2022 Providence Corey Medallions awarded as a special CTFA event of AATE’s Conference Awards, in Providence, RI. 2022 Honorees: Honolulu Theatre for Youth (Honolulu, HI), Mary Hall Surface (Washington, DC).

2023 Tempe Corey Medallions awarded as a special event of TYA/USA's Festival and Conference. 2023 Honorees: Rising Youth Theatre (Phoenix, AZ ), José Casas (Ann Arbor, MI). ALSO the 2022 Honorees: Honolulu Theatre for Youth (Honolulu, HI), Mary Hall Surface (Washington, DC) were recognized and presented with their Medallion art award.

2024 Atlanta Corey Medallions awarded in an Awards partnership event with TYA/USA's Festival and Conference. 2024 honorees Kathy D. Harrison and Idris Goodwin were recognized and presented with their Medallion art awards.